Black and white photographic print showing the Black Dyke Band posed in front of the Victoria Hall Queensbury with their instruments. Standing L-R: D Summersgill, J Bairstow, G Richmond, J Brooke, D Southcott, L Haley, W Gibson, M Murphy (front), T Waterman (rear), D Pratt (front), E Bland ( rear), P Hey, S Smith (front), J Clay (rear), M Blowers, L Hannan, G Sutcliffe, W Shaw.
Seated L -R: P McNab, C Emmott, G Whitham, J Slinger, Jack Emmott (Musical Director), Leighton Lucus ( Professional Conductor), J Clough, B Broadbent, E Keeton, H Pickering.

Photographed by Hugh Greaves of Halifax

Below details from an article which included this photo

Black Dyke Mills Band – 1962

Back Row (left to right):
Jeffrey Bairstow (Cornet); Jack Brooke (Cornet); Leonard Haley (Percussion); Tommy Waterman (Soprano) Eric Bland (Cornet & Librarian); John Clay (Flugel); Les Hanman (Cornet)

Middle Row:
David Summersgill (Trombone); Grenville Richmond (Trombone); Derek Southcott (Trombone); William Gibson (Cornet); Maurice Murphy (Cornet); David Platt (Cornet); Peter Hey (Cornet); Sam Smith (Horn);
Malcolm Blowers (Horn);

Front Row:
Peter McNab (Bb Bass); Charles Emmott (Eb Bass); Geoffrey Whitham (Euphonium); John Slinger (Baritone); Jack Emmott (Conductor); Leighton Lucas (Professional Conductor); John Clough (Baritone); Brian Broadbent (Euphonium); Ernest Keeton (Eb Bass); Harry Pickering (Bb Bass)

Photographic Print
Date of Production:
Part of Black Dyke Collection 2016
On wall in Black Dyke Band room
Artefact ID:

Read our latest news

Festival of Brass hailed a “Terrific Success”

Read More

Black Dyke joins forces with Castleford SA

Read More

Charlie Cresswell joins the ranks

Read More